top of page

Zodiac 101

Updated: Nov 21, 2022

By Morgan Carter

Many people have a general sense of what zodiac signs are and how they work. You’re one of the twelve zodiac signs based on the day you were born and it determines your personality right? But there is so much more to zodiac signs than you might think and we’ll cover the basics in terms of everything you need to know about them. Let’s start with the two kinds of astrological systems; placidus and siderealist. Placidus is the more common astrological system and is based on a house system with a fixed map of the stars while siderealist astrology is also based on a house system but accounts for the change in the placement of the stars over time. For now, we will be focusing on the placidus system. The twelve zodiac signs, in order from the beginning of the year, include Capricorn, Aquarius, Pisces, Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, and Sagitarius. You may see the signs listed in order starting with Aries and ending with Pisces as this is the order of the houses that they rule from one to twelve. Each person has a birth chart that includes a zodiac sign that is assigned to each planet and house which is generally determined by the exact day that you were born. Everyone has a sun sign placement, moon sign placement, mercury sign placement, venus sign placement, mars sign placement, jupiter sign placement, saturn sign placement, uranus sign placement, neptune sign placement, and a pluto sign placement. Each planet represents different things for example, the sun represents your ego therefore the characteristics of the zodiac sign in your sun placement describes your ego. As there is so much to know about zodiac signs we’ll focus on the sun signs today. Your sun sign is likely the one that you know and is dictated by a range of dates in a month. You can determine your sun sign by referring to these dates; Aries (March 21 – April 19); Taurus (April 20 – May 20); Gemini (May 21 – June 20); Cancer (June 21 – July 22 ); Leo (July 23 – August 22 ); Virgo (August 23 – September 22); Libra (September 23 – October 22); Scorpio (October 23 – November 21); Sagittarius (November 22 – December 21); Capricorn (December 22 – January 19); Aquarius (January 20 – February 18); Pisces (February 19 – March 20). Each sign also includes an element which helps to classify them further and other signs of your same element are considered to be your sister signs meaning you all have a certain trait in common determined by an element. For example, I am a Leo so Aries and Sagittarius would be considered my sister signs. The fire signs include Aries, Leo, and Sagitarius; the earth signs include Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn; the air signs include Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius; and lastly the water signs include Cancer, Scorpio, and Pices. There is so much more to know about zodiac signs, how they are categorized, and what characteristics are associated with them but for now let this serves as a great guide for beginners to astrology.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page